Daily | Gotham Awards 2014

Michael Keaton in 'Birdman'

Michael Keaton in ‘Birdman’

“To vote for the Gotham Independent Film Awards, you have to be a member of the New York-based Independent Film Project, and then be appointed to one of several panels made up of small groups of critics, journalists, film curators and other independent film insiders—but only after a separate nominating committee has vetted the names of the possible entrants and certified them as official nominations. Okay,” grants Thelma Adams in the Hollywood Reporter, “so it’s not exactly the People’s Choice. In fact, the Gothams may well be the most elite, rarefied and insular movie awards of the whole season.”

Well! Here’s to the winners, then, in bold.


Wes Anderson’s The Grand Budapest Hotel.

Jonathan Glazer’s Under the Skin.

Alejandro G. Iñárritu’s Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance).

Richard Linklater‘s Boyhood.

Ira Sachs‘s Love Is Strange.


Marshall Curry‘s Point and Shoot.

Robert Greene‘s Actress.

Steve James‘s Life Itself.

Laura Poitras‘s Citizenfour.

Stephanie Spray and Pacho Velez‘s Manakamana.


Ana Lily Amirpour for A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night.

James Ward Byrkit for Coherence.

Dan Gilroy for Nightcrawler.

Eliza Hittman for It Felt Like Love.

Justin Simien for Dear White People.


Bill Hader in The Skeleton Twins.

Ethan Hawke in Boyhood.

Oscar Isaac in A Most Violent Year.

Michael Keaton in Birdman.

Miles Teller in Whiplash.

The 2014 Best Actor nominating panel has also voted to award a special Gotham Jury Award jointly to Steve Carell, Mark Ruffalo, and Channing Tatum for their ensemble performance in Foxcatcher.


Patricia Arquette in Boyhood.

Gugu Mbatha-Raw in Beyond the Lights.

Julianne Moore in Still Alice.

Scarlett Johansson in Under the Skin.

Mia Wasikowska in Tracks.


Riz Ahmed in Nightcrawler.

Macon Blair in Blue Ruin.

Ellar Coltrane in Boyhood.

Joey King in Wish I Was Here.

Jenny Slate in Obvious Child.

Tessa Thompson in Dear White People.

And Gotham Award Tributes have been given to Tilda Swinton, Foxcatcher director Bennett Miller and Industry Tribute recipient Netflix’s Ted Sarandos.

Update, 12/9: It was Amy Schumer who presented the award to Tilda Swinton. Marvelously, too:

The 2014 Lists and Awards Index. For news and tips throughout the day every day, follow @KeyframeDaily. Get Keyframe Daily in your inbox by signing in at

Did you like this article?
Give it a vote for a Golden Bowtie


Keyframe is always looking for contributors.

"Writer? Video Essayist? Movie Fan Extraordinaire?

Fandor is streaming on Amazon Prime

Love to discover new films? Browse our exceptional library of hand-picked cinema on the Fandor Amazon Prime Channel.