Daily | European Film Awards 2013 | Nominations

The Broken Circle Breakdown

‘The Broken Circle Breakdown’

Saturday afternoon seems a strange time to make a major announcement, but the European Film Academy has gone ahead and presented the nominations for the 26th European Film Awards at the Seville European Film Festival. Felix van Groeningen’s The Broken Circle Breakdown leads with five, followed by Paolo Sorrentino’s La Grande Bellezza (The Great Beauty) with four. The 2013 nominations:


Pablo Berger’s Blancanieves (Spain and France).
Jan Ole Gerster’s Oh Boy! (Germany).
Felix van Groeningen’s The Broken Circle Breakdown (Belgium).
Adellatif Kechiche’s La Vie d’Adèle: Chapitres 1 & 2 (Blue is the Warmest Color, France).
Paolo Sorrentino’s La Grande Bellezza (The Great Beauty, Italy and France).
Giuseppe Tornatore’s The Best Offer (Italy).


Pedro Almodóvar’s Los Amantes Pasajeros (I’m So Excited, Spain).
Susanne Bier’s Den skaldede frisør (Love Is All You Need, Denmark).
Vinko Brešan’s Svecenikova Djeca (The Priest’s Children, Croatia and Serbia).
Riccardo Milani’s Benvenuto Presidente! (Welcome Mr. President!, Italy).


Pablo Berger for Blancanieves.
Abdellatif Kechiche for La Vie d’Adèle: Chapitres 1 & 2 (Blue is the Warmest Color).
François Ozon for Dans La Maison (In the House).
Paolo Sorrentino for La Grande Bellezza (The Great Beauty).
Giuseppe Tornatore for The Best Offer.
Felix van Groeningen for The Broken Circle Breakdown.


Veerle Baetens in The Broken Circle Breakdown.
Luminita Gheorghiu in Pozitia Copilului (Child’s Pose).
Kiera Knightley in Anna Karenina.
Barbara Sukowa in Hannah Arendt.
Naomi Watts in Lo Imposible (The Impossible).


Jude Law in Anna Karenina.
Johan Heldenbergh in The Broken Circle Breakdown.
Fabrice Luchini in Dans La Maison (In the House).
Toni Servillo in La Grande Belleza (The Great Beauty).
Tom Schilling in Oh Boy!


Neus Ballús’s La Plaga (The Plague, Spain).
Jan Ole Gerster’s Oh Boy! (Germany).
Valeria Golino’s Miele (Honey, Italy and France).
Mikael Marcimain’s Call Girl (Sweden, Norway, Ireland, and Finland).
Gabriela Pichler’s Äta sova dö (Eat Sleep Die, Sweden).


Enzo d’Aiò’s Pinocchio (Italy, Luxembourg, France, and Belgium).
Ari Folman’s The Congress (Israel, Germany, Poland, Luxembourg, France, and Belgium).
Alain Ughetto’s Jasmine (France).


Kaveh Bakhtiari’s L’Escale (Stop-Over, Switzerland and France).
Joshua Oppenheimer‘s The Act of Killing (Denmark, Norway, and UK).
Rithy Panh’s L’Image Manquante (The Missing Picture, France and Cambodia).


Cathy Brady’s Morning (UK and Ireland, 21′, Cork nominee).
Miguel Fonseca’s As Ondas (The Waves, Portugal, 22′, Ghent nominee).
Christoph Girardet and Matthias Müller’s Cut (Germany, 12′, Vila do Conde nominee).
Kristina Grozeva and Petar Valchanov’s Skok (Jump, Bulgaria, 30′, Clermont-Ferrand nominee).
Omar Robert Hamilton’s Though I Know The River Is Dry (Egypt, Palestine and UK, 20′, Rotterdam nominee).
Hu Wei’s La Lampe au Beurre de Yak (Butter Lamp, France and China, 15′, Drama nominee).
Chema García Ibarra’s Misterio (Mystery, Spain, 12′, Berlin nominee).
Jochen Kuhn’s Sonntag 3 (Sunday 3, Germany, 14′, Tampere nominee).
Sergei Loznitsa’s Letter (Russia, 20′, documentary, Krakow nominee).
Sergio Oksman’s A Story for the Modlins (Spain, 26′, documentary, Sarajevo nominee).
Bülent Öztürk’s Houses with Small Windows (Belgium, 15′, Venice nominee).
Christina Picchi’s Zima (Russia, 12′, documentary, Locarno nominee).
Myroslav Slaboshpytskiy’s Yaderni Wydhody (Nuclear Waste, Ukraine, 25′, Grimstad nominee).
Jamie Stone’s Orbit Ever After (UK, 20′, Bristol nominee).
Tom Van Avermaet’s Dood Van Een Schaduw (Death of a Shadow, Belgium and France, 20′, Valladolid nominee).


Carlo di Palma European Cinematographer Award: Asaf Sudry for Lemale et Ha’Halal (Fill the Void, Israel).
European Editor: Cristiano Travaglioli for La Grande Bellezza (The Great Beauty, Italy and France).
European Production Designer: Sarah Greenwood for Anna Karenina (UK).
European Composer: Ennio Morricone for The Best Offer (Italy).
European Costume Designer: Paco Delgado for Blancanieves (Spain and France).
European Sound Designer: Matz Müller and Erik Mischijew for Paradies: Glaube (Paradise: Faith, Austria, Germany, and France).

Lifetime Achievement Award: Catherine Deneuve.
European Achievement in World Cinema: Pedro Almodóvar.

All the other winners will be announced at the ceremony to be held in Berlin on December 7.

For news and tips throughout the day every day, follow @KeyframeDaily on Twitter and/or the RSS feed. Get Keyframe Daily in your inbox by signing in at

Did you like this article?
Give it a vote for a Golden Bowtie


Keyframe is always looking for contributors.

"Writer? Video Essayist? Movie Fan Extraordinaire?

Fandor is streaming on Amazon Prime

Love to discover new films? Browse our exceptional library of hand-picked cinema on the Fandor Amazon Prime Channel.