Daily | DC Film Critics Go for BOYHOOD and BIRDMAN


Ellar Coltrane’s a winner in this round, too

The Washington DC Area Film Critics Association, founded in 2002 and now 55 members strong, has announced the winners of its 2014 awards.

Best Film: Boyhood.

Best Director: Richard Linklater (Boyhood).

Best Actor: Michael Keaton (Birdman).

Best Actress: Julianne Moore (Still Alice).

Best Supporting Actor: J.K. Simmons (Whiplash).

Best Supporting Actress: Patricia Arquette (Boyhood).

Best Acting Ensemble: Birdman.

Best Youth Performance: Ellar Coltrane (Boyhood).

Best Adapted Screenplay: Gillian Flynn (Gone Girl).

Best Original Screenplay: Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Jr., Armando Bo (Birdman).

Best Animated Feature: The Lego Movie.

Best Documentary: Life Itself.

Best Foreign Language Film: Force Majeure.

Best Art Direction: Production Designer: Adam Stockhausen and Set Decorator: Anna Pinnock (The Grand Budapest Hotel).

Best Cinematography: Emmanuel Lubezki (Birdman).

Best Editing: Douglas Crise and Stephen Mirrione (Birdman).

Best Original Score: Mica Levi (Under the Skin).

The Joe Barber Award for Best Portrayal of Washington, DC: Captain America: The Winter Soldier.

The 2014 Lists and Awards Index. For news and tips throughout the day every day, follow @KeyframeDaily. Get Keyframe Daily in your inbox by signing in at

Did you like this article?
Give it a vote for a Golden Bowtie


Keyframe is always looking for contributors.

"Writer? Video Essayist? Movie Fan Extraordinaire?

Fandor is streaming on Amazon Prime

Love to discover new films? Browse our exceptional library of hand-picked cinema on the Fandor Amazon Prime Channel.