Daily | Cannes 2015 | DHEEPAN Wins the Palme d’Or



The Jury of the 68th Cannes Film Festival, presided over by Joel and Ethan Coen and including Rossy de Palma, Guillermo Del Toro, Xavier Dolan, Jake Gyllenhaal, Sophie Marceau, Sienna Miller and Rokia Traoré, has presented the Palme d’Or to Jacques Audiard’s Dheepan.

Throughout this entry, by the way, clicking on a title will take you to a roundup of reviews and, when available, trailers, clips and interviews.

Laszlo Nemes wins the Grand Prix for Son of Saul.

The Prix du Jury goes to Yorgos Lanthimos for The Lobster.

Best Director: Hou Hsiao-hsien for The Assassin.

Best Screenplay: Michel Franco for Chronic.

Best Actress is awarded jointly to Rooney Mara for Carol and Emmanuelle Bercot for Mon roi.

Best Actor: Vincent Lindon for The Measure of a Man.

The Caméra d’Or for best first feature film, presented this year by a jury presided over by Sabine Azéma (other members: Delphine Gleize, Melvil Poupaud, Claude Garner, Didier Huck, Yann Gonzalez and Bernard Payen), goes to César Augusto Àcevedo’s Land and Shade.

The Cinéfondation and Short Films Jury, headed by Abderrahmane Sissako and including Cécile de France, Joana Hadjithomas, Daniel Olbrychski and Rebecca Zlotowski, has presented the Palme d’Or for a Short Film to Ely Dagher’s Waves ’98.

On Friday, the Jury named the winners of the Cinéfondation Competition. In the running were eighteen student films, selected from among 593 entries from 381 film schools around the world. The winners:

Agnès Varda has become the first woman to receive honorary Palme d’or. Among recipients in the past are Woody Allen (2002), Manoel de Oliveira (2008), Clint Eastwood (2009) and Bernardo Bertolucci (2011).

The first L’Oeil d’Or, awarded to the best documentary at the festival, has been presented to Marcia Tambutti Allende’s Beyond My Grandfather Allende and Stig Bjorkman’s Ingrid Bergman – In Her Own Words earns a special mention.

In earlier entries, we’ve listed the Un Certain Regard, Directors’ Fortnight and Critics’ Week award-winners.

The FIPRESCI (International Federation of Film Critics) awards:

  • Competition: László Nemes’s Son of Saul.
  • Un Certain Regard: Neeraj Ghaywan’s Masaan.
  • Parallel Sections: Santiago Mitre’s Paulina (Critics’ Week).

The Ecumenical Jury has awarded its prize to Nanni Moretti’s My Mother and added special mentions for Stéphane Brizé’s The Measure of a Man and Brillante Mendoza’s Taklub. We don’t have an entry for Taklub, but I can tell you that, for Variety‘s Maggie Lee, this “portrait of three surviving families a year after Typhoon Yolanda ripped through the city of Tacloban is more concerned with their emotional devastation than with the physical aftermath. Shot in a no-frills documentary style that echoes its subjects’ deprivation, the film is at once intimate and detached in its dramatic economy, though the finale will leave many viewers saddened yet humbled.” More from Screen.

The 2015 all-women Queer Palm Jury, headed by Desiree Akhavan (Appropriate Behavior), has awarded this year’s Queer Palm to Todd Haynes’s Carol. Special mention: Yorgos Lanthimos’s The Lobster. The short film Queer Palm goes to Juricic Merillán’s Locas Perdidas (Lost Queens).

And this year’s Palm Dog goes to Lucky, star of Miguel Gomes’s Arabian Nights.

Cannes 2015 Index. For news and tips throughout the day every day, follow @KeyframeDaily. Get Keyframe Daily in your inbox by signing in at

Did you like this article?
Give it a vote for a Golden Bowtie


Keyframe is always looking for contributors.

"Writer? Video Essayist? Movie Fan Extraordinaire?

Fandor is streaming on Amazon Prime

Love to discover new films? Browse our exceptional library of hand-picked cinema on the Fandor Amazon Prime Channel.