Daily | Berlin 2015 | Jafar Panahi’s TAXI Wins the Golden Bear

Jafar Panahi in 'Taxi'

Jafar Panahi in ‘Taxi’

The International Jury of the 65th Berlinale, presided over by Darren Aronofsky and whose other members are Daniel Brühl, Bong Joon-ho, Martha De Laurentiis, Claudia Llosa, Audrey Tautou and Matthew Weiner, has presented the Golden Bear to Jafar Panahi‘s Taxi.

Pablo Larraín‘s The Club wins the Silver Bear Grand Jury Prize.

The Silver Bear Alfred Bauer Prize, presented for a feature film that opens new perspectives, goes to Jayro Bustamante’s Ixcanul Volcano.

The jury awards two Silver Bears for Best Director: Radu Jude for Aferim! and Małgorzata Szumowska for Body.

The two acting Silver Bears, Best Actress and Best Actor, go to the two leads of Andrew Haigh‘s 45 Years, Charlotte Rampling and Tom Courtenay.

Silver Bear for Best Script: Patricio Guzmán for The Pearl Button.

And the jury’s decided to give two Silver Bears for Outstanding Artistic Contribution in the categories camera, editing, music, score, costume or set design. The first goes to cinematographer Sturla Brandth Grøvlen for his work on Sebastian Schipper’s Victoria, the second to cinematographers Evgeniy Privin and Sergey Mikhalchuk for their work on Alexey German Jr.’s Under Electric Clouds.

Jurors Fernando Eimbcke, Olga Kurylenko and Joshua Oppenheimer have presented the Best First Feature award to Gabriel Ripstein’s 600 Miles.

The Berlinale Shorts jurors, artist Halil Altındere, filmmaker and curator Madhusree Dutta and Curator and author Wahyuni A. Hadi, present their Golden Bear to Na Young-kil’s Hosanna and their Silver Bear to Joanna Arnow’s Bad at Dancing. The first Audi Short Film award goes to Momoko Seto’s Planet Σ. And the Berlin Short Film nominee for the European Film Awards 2015 is Till Nowak’s Dissonance.

The Youth Jury Generation 14plus, comprised, as the name implies, of young viewers, presents:

  • Crystal Bear for the Best Film: Beata Gårdeler’s Flocking. Special mention: Sam de Jong’s Prince.
  • Crystal Bear for the Best Short Film: Petros Silvestros’s A Confession. Special mention: Chris Raiber’s Nelly.

And from the Generation 14plus International Jury:

  • Grand Prix: Marielle Heller’s The Diary of a Teenage Girl. Special mention: Saskia Diesing’s Nena.
  • Special Prize for the best short: Ben Adler’s Coach. Special mention: Iddo Soskolne and Janne Reinikainen’s Reunion.

Generation Kplus is aimed at even younger viewers. The Children’s Jury awards:

And the Generation Kplus International Jury:

An Honorary Golden Bear has been presented to Wim Wenders, subject of this year’s Homage.

Three Berlinale Cameras, which “pay tribute to personalities and institutions that have made a unique contribution to film and to whom the festival feels especially close,” have been awarded this year: Marcel Ophüls; film historian and former director of the Moscow Film Museum, Naum Kleiman, subject of the documentary Cinema: A Public Affair, which has just screened in the Forum program; and Slow Food founders Alice Waters and Carlo Petrini.


FIPRESCI, the Fédération Internationale de la Presse Cinématographique:

The Teddy Awards, “the most outstanding queer film prize in the world”:

The Ecumenical Jury, comprised of the international film organizations of the Protestant and Catholic Churches, INTERFILM and SIGNIS:

The Caligari Film Prize, sponsored by the German Federal Association of Communal Film Work and filmdienst magazine: Kidlat Tahimik’s Balikbayan #1 Memories of Overdevelopment Redux III.

CICAE, the International Confederation of Art House Cinemas:

The Guild of German Art House Cinemas: Sebastian Schipper’s Victoria.

“Made in Germany,” the Perspektive Deutsches Kino’s fellowship: Oskar Sulowski for Rosebuds.

Europa Cinemas Label: Ole Giæver and Marte Vold’s Out of Nature.

The French-German Youth Office’s “Dialogue en perspective” award: Anatol Schuster’s A Perfect Place. Special mention: Tom Sommerlatte’s Summers Downstairs.

The Peace Film Prize, “awarded under the patronage of the International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War and supported by the Zehlendorf Peace Intiative, the Heinrich Böll Foundation, the International Auschwitz Committee and the IPPNW”: Joshua Oppenheimer‘s The Look of Silence.

The Amnesty International Film Prize: Saeed Taji Farouky and Michael McEvoy’s Tell Spring Not to Come This Year.

The Heiner Carow Prize, promoting “German cinematic arts to a documentary, feature or essay film in the Panorama section”: Jörg A. Hoppe, Klaus Maeck and Heiko Lange’s B-Movie: Lust & Sound in West-Berlin.

The Think:Film Award, presented by Forum Expanded and the Allianz Cultural Foundation: Maciej Sobieszczanski and Lukasz Ronduda’s Oskar Dawicki in The Performer and Pierre Huyghe’s Untitled (Human Mask). Special mention: Akram Zaatari’s Twenty-Eight Nights and a Poem.


Panorama Audience Awards:

The Berliner Morgenpost Readers’ Jury: Sebastian Schipper’s Victoria.

The Tagesspiegel Readers’ Jury: Vladimir Tomic’s Flotel Europa.

The Siegessäule Readers’ Jury: Chang Tso-Chi’s Thanatos, Drunk.


The ARTE International Prize: Marcela Said for Los Perros.

The Eurimages Co-Production Development Award: Director Emily Atef and producer Karsten Stöter.

The VFF Talent Highlight Pitch Award: Producer Gema Juarez Allen and director Abner Benaim for Biencuidao.

The Berlinale Talents Doc Station Development Grant: Marouan Omara for Dream Away.

The Dolby® Atmos Policy Trailer: Warren Santiago.

For news and tips throughout the day every day, follow @KeyframeDaily. Get Keyframe Daily in your inbox by signing in at

Did you like this article?
Give it a vote for a Golden Bowtie


Keyframe is always looking for contributors.

"Writer? Video Essayist? Movie Fan Extraordinaire?

Fandor is streaming on Amazon Prime

Love to discover new films? Browse our exceptional library of hand-picked cinema on the Fandor Amazon Prime Channel.